Open Thank You Letter to Cocktails by Cody

Dear Cody (from Cocktails by Cody),

I’ve always taken my partying seriously. So, you can imagine, while I was writing my article about the gem that is Cody’s concoctions I was imagining myself drinking all of them. Never in my life, did I think it would actually happen. Mostly because I don’t want to be identified as the raging alcoholic I clearly have become.

But then I showed my cousin and Nerdophiles contributor, Jane, the article. And given that my birthday is today, we decided that a Disney party was necessary. What started as “just a few drinks” quickly devolved into a sixteen drink extravaganza. Cody, we tried really hard to make the eighteen drinks that we picked, but towards the end of the night, it was clear that we had peaked somewhere around drink number eight or nine.

Being the dedicated Nerdophiles that we are, Jane and I made the drinks with as much dedication as we could muster and documented our process. Here were the results. We apologize for using plastic cups. I’m a college student, there’s only so much money I’m willing to spend, and it was definitely all going to the liquor.

The beginning of the night. Yes, I did actually buy a majority of this. I am committed. Also it's my birthday.

The beginning of the night. Yes, I did actually buy a majority of this. I am committed. Also it’s my birthday.

Before the night began, me and my cousin Johnny began our birthday celebration! Johnny is dressed as The Hound, from The Fox and The Hound.

Before the night began, me and my cousin Johnny began our birthday celebration! Johnny is dressed as Todd, from The Fox and The Hound.

Jane, at her mixing table.

Jane, at her mixing table.

Jane, at the mixing table again.

Jane, at the mixing table again.

Drinks we made (crossed out are the ones we weren’t able to make):

  • Sleep Cycle
  • Fair Maiden
  • Grumpy
  • Evil to the Core
  • Royal Vizier
  • Rebel Royal
  • Golden God
  • Porcelain Warrior
  • Lily of the Sun
  • Mad Tea
  • Bone Daddy
  • Warlord
  • Sirens Song
  • Bad Juju (Technically we made this one, but no pictures. Notes below.)
  • Coldfront
  • Weak Ankles
Sleep Cycle. This was HANDS DOWN our favorite drink of the night. And to think, we almost weren't going to make it. And yes, I am day drinking this cocktail right now.

Sleep Cycle. This was HANDS DOWN our favorite drink of the night. And to think, we almost weren’t going to make it. And yes, I am day drinking this cocktail right now.

Fair Maiden. This reminded us of some of our favorite drinks, so this was definitely a crowd pleaser.

Fair Maiden. This reminded us of some of our favorite drinks, so this was definitely a crowd pleaser.

Grumpy. Yeah... we know it was meant to be a shot, but then Jane put in a shot of the grenadine, a shot of the orange vodka, and then few of Sprite. We topped it off with some cream, but it ended up tasting delicious so no complaints.

Grumpy. Yeah… we know it was meant to be a shot, but then Jane put in a shot of the grenadine, a shot of the orange vodka, and then few of Sprite. We topped it off with some cream, but it ended up tasting delicious so no complaints.

Evil to the Core. Another huge crowd favorite. Again we treated this like a larger drink instead of just a double shot.

Evil to the Core. Another huge crowd favorite. Again we treated this like a larger drink instead of just a double shot.

Royal Vizier. Another crowd pleaser. Mixed with some Meyer's, and a shot of grenadine, I did my best to carve out a cobra head and I'm honestly surprised I even did this well.

Royal Vizier. Another crowd pleaser. Mixed with some Meyer’s, and a shot of grenadine, I did my best to carve out a cobra head and I’m honestly surprised I even did this well.

Rebel Royal. This was my friend Bethany's favorite. It definitely had some great flavors, but we added a twist by adding Malibu Rum instead of plain white rum and the fruitiness was great. Our pineapple juice was cloudy, so the color didn't exactly turn out right... Also this definitely reminded me of a Liquid Marijuana, which I love.

Rebel Royal. This was my friend Bethany’s favorite. It definitely had some great flavors, but we added a twist by adding Malibu Rum instead of plain white rum and the fruitiness was great. Our pineapple juice was cloudy, so the color didn’t exactly turn out right… Also this definitely reminded me of a Liquid Marijuana, which I love.

Golden God. This was a hit with me and Jane, less with a few of the other people who weren't fans of the Goldschlagger. But personally, it was so tasty, I would drink one right now. (I might.)

Golden God. This was a hit with me and Jane, less with a few of the other people who weren’t fans of the Goldschlagger. But personally, it was so tasty, I would drink one right now. (I might.)

Porcelain Warrior. Without cherry sake, we ended up adding a bit of Grenadine for color (though admittedly the taste would differ with cherry) and added a little bit more lychee syrup. We loved this one too.

Porcelain Warrior. Without cherry sake, we ended up adding a bit of Grenadine for color (though admittedly the taste would differ with cherry) and added a little bit more lychee syrup. We loved this one too.

Lily of the Sun. We have been dying to try St. Germaine, and the mix with champagne and some pear vodka was the best thing I'd ever heard of. St. Germaine was expensive, so we could only make some with a little 50mL bottle. Next time, there will be more of it.

Lily of the Sun. We have been dying to try St. Germaine, and the mix with champagne and some pear vodka was the best thing I’d ever heard of. St. Germaine was expensive, so we could only make some with a little 50mL bottle. Next time, there will be more of it.

Mad Tea. This one didn't turn out so great. It was a little disappointing, but I blame myself for making the tea too strong and not adding sweetener. I should have just used Arizona Iced Tea and muddled it with more lemon. However, I was the most excited to try this, so I am definitely going to make it again with better tea. I BELIEVE IN IT.

Mad Tea. This one didn’t turn out so great. It was a little disappointing, but I blame myself for making the tea too strong and not adding sweetener. I should have just used Arizona Iced Tea and muddled it with more lemon. However, I was the most excited to try this, so I am definitely going to make it again with better tea. I BELIEVE IN IT.

Bone Daddy. So I thought we were out of licorice when this was made, I was wrong.

Bone Daddy. So I thought we were out of licorice when this was made, I was wrong.

Warlord. This one was kind of where we went off the deep end. We saved it for the end. We used Taku sake, which wasn't cloudy, but man was it smooth. This tasted delicious, and definitely recommended for people who love these kinds of drinks.

Warlord. This one was kind of where we went off the deep end. We saved it for the end. We used Taku sake, which wasn’t cloudy, but man was it smooth. This tasted delicious, and definitely recommended for people who love these kinds of drinks.

Sirens Song. Sadly, coming after Warlord, this was a little bland. Maybe because I was a little tipsy when I made it, maybe because our food processor sucks. But I got the layering right, and that's all that counted for me at that time.

Sirens Song. Sadly, coming after Warlord, this was a little bland. Maybe because I was a little tipsy when I made it, maybe because our food processor sucks. But I got the layering right, and that’s all that counted for me at that time.

So yeah, I’m pretty sure when you made these, you didn’t intend them all to be had in one night (or maybe you did…)  but we did it anyways. We also attempted Bad Juju, but I’m pretty sure we weren’t making it right because it actually tasted like bad juju.

It was a great time, and even though it took a little bit, we did our best with the ingredients that we had. The downside was it took a little more time than our normal concoctions, the upside is that we now have great drinks to work off of and my cabinet is SET. So thanks for the awesome drinks, and keep them coming! We are anxiously waiting for more!

Also, I know she’s not disney, but do some Anastasia?

Yes, I was Asian Ariel, and yes, I did make this drink solely for picture taking purposes.

Yes, I was Asian Ariel, and yes, I did make this drink solely for picture taking purposes.

P.S. Just look at how wondrous the aftermath was.

We also made crawdads, gumbo, and king cake inspired by The Princess and The Frog.

We also made crawdads, gumbo, and king cake inspired by The Princess and The Frog.

We left that mess for the morning.

We left that mess for the morning.

Leave a Reply

